What is established
Paused. 100 MW announced (basis not stated by the source); $1B announced investment; owned or developed by EcoCloud.
What is not disclosed
Accelerator count, hardware platform, timeline, named tenant, power source, cooling technology — not disclosed by any source on this page. Recorded as unknown, never as zero.
Analyst note
Geothermal-powered campus with Microsoft as cloud partner (~$1B initial investment announced May 2024). Recorded at the 100 MW initial phase, not the 1 GW ceiling. Per May 2026 reporting the plan has stalled — the commissioning date was abandoned and government approval never materialized — hence PAUSED. A smaller ~60 MW KenGen-led project continues separately.
Corroborated by more than one source, but not yet backed by physical evidence.
Power readiness
Capacity basis unclear
A megawatt figure exists but the source does not say whether it is IT load, site power or generation.
Derived from the evidence on this page by a published rule, not a model. How this is calculated.
-0.8860, 36.2920
No companies linked to this project yet.
| Metric | Value | Confidence | As of | Basis / methodology | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 100 MW | High | Not disclosed | Basis: unclear. Announced target, not energized capacity. Note: Geothermal-powered campus with Microsoft as cloud partner (~$1B initial investment announced May 2024). Recorded at the 100 MW initial phase, not the 1 GW ceiling. Per May 2026 reporting the plan has stalled — the commissioning date was abandoned and government approval never materialized — hence PAUSED. A smaller ~60 MW KenGen-led project continues separately. | G42 |
| Capex | $1,000,000,000 | High | Not disclosed | Announced investment figure. | G42 |
G42 · Mar 6, 2024 · accessed Jul 28, 2026
initial capacity of 100 MW, but with the potential to build up to 1 Gigawatt
Reliability
95/100
Techish Kenya · May 9, 2026 · accessed Jul 28, 2026
To switch on that one data centre, we would need to shut off power for half the country.
Reliability
65/100
Geothermal-powered campus with Microsoft as cloud partner (~$1B initial investment announced May 2024). Recorded at the 100 MW initial phase, not the 1 GW ceiling. Per May 2026 reporting the plan has stalled — the commissioning date was abandoned and government approval never materialized — hence PAUSED. A smaller ~60 MW KenGen-led project continues separately.
No revisions recorded.
No related projects by owner or country.