What is established
Operational. 48 MW announced (gross site power); owned or developed by KDDI.
What is not disclosed
Accelerator count, project capex, timeline, named tenant, power source, cooling technology — not disclosed by any source on this page. Recorded as unknown, never as zero.
Analyst note
Opened 2026-01-22 on part of Sharp's former Sakai LCD plant (KDDI bought its parcel for ~JPY10bn/US$68m in April 2025; GB200 NVL72 racks, direct liquid cooling, 100% renewable power). Distinct from SoftBank's separate 150MW project on the larger portion of the same Sharp Sakai site (already covered). 48MW is facility capacity as reported at launch; IT-vs-total basis not broken out. CORRECTION 2026-08-01: operations since 2026-01-22 are primary-sourced (KDDI), but the 48 MW figure appears only in trade press and describes facility capacity, not critical IT load. Reclassified from confirmed operating to an estimate accordingly.
Physical work is under way and the evidence includes a primary source.
Power readiness
Capacity basis stated
The source distinguishes IT load from total site power or on-site generation.
Derived from the evidence on this page by a published rule, not a model. How this is calculated.
NVIDIA GB200 NVL72
34.5600, 135.4400
No companies linked to this project yet.
| Metric | Value | Confidence | As of | Basis / methodology | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 48 MW | Medium | Not disclosed | Basis: site power. Facility capacity per trade press; KDDI's own releases state no megawatt figure. Operating since 2026-01-22 (KDDI, primary). | Mingtiandi |
KDDI · Jan 22, 2026 · accessed Jul 29, 2026
KDDI was able to build the Osaka Sakai Data Center in just half a year and achieve a rapid launch.
Reliability
95/100
Mingtiandi · Jan 26, 2026 · accessed Jul 29, 2026
The 48-megawatt facility comprises 57,000 square metres (613,543 square feet) of floor area across four storeys
Reliability
65/100
Opened 2026-01-22 on part of Sharp's former Sakai LCD plant (KDDI bought its parcel for ~JPY10bn/US$68m in April 2025; GB200 NVL72 racks, direct liquid cooling, 100% renewable power). Distinct from SoftBank's separate 150MW project on the larger portion of the same Sharp Sakai site (already covered). 48MW is facility capacity as reported at launch; IT-vs-total basis not broken out. CORRECTION 2026-08-01: operations since 2026-01-22 are primary-sourced (KDDI), but the 48 MW figure appears only in trade press and describes facility capacity, not critical IT load. Reclassified from confirmed operating to an estimate accordingly.
Correction: 48 MW reclassified from confirmed to estimated — KDDI's own release states no megawatt figure; 48 MW is trade-press facility capacity
Aug 1, 2026
System
Sakura Internet · Ishikari, Hokkaido, Hokkaido, Japan
SoftBank · Sakai, Osaka, Japan