What is established
Partially operational. 2,000 accelerators (NVIDIA H100 (B200/Blackwell expansion underway)); expected Jan 2027; owned or developed by Sakura Internet.
What is not disclosed
Capacity, project capex, named tenant, power source, cooling technology — not disclosed by any source on this page. Recorded as unknown, never as zero.
Analyst note
~2,000 H100s operational at Ishikari (NVIDIA PR: expanding 'from 2,000 to nearly 4,000 NVIDIA Hopper GPUs'); HGX B200 planned toward ~10,800 total GPUs. Company added ~1,100 Blackwell GPUs in a container DC at Ishikari announced 2026-02-24 (company announcement). Backed by ~JPY50.1bn METI subsidy for national GenAI compute; site targeted fully renewable by 2027. gpuCount reflects confirmed installed H100 base, not targets.
Physical work is under way and the evidence includes a primary source.
Power readiness
No capacity disclosed
No megawatt figure has been sourced for this project.
Derived from the evidence on this page by a published rule, not a model. How this is calculated.
NVIDIA H100 (B200/Blackwell expansion underway)
43.1700, 141.3100
No companies linked to this project yet.
| Metric | Value | Confidence | As of | Basis / methodology | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPU count | 2,000 GPUs | High | Not disclosed | Model: NVIDIA H100 (B200/Blackwell expansion underway). | NVIDIA |
NVIDIA · Nov 12, 2024 · accessed Jul 29, 2026
SAKURA internet intends to provide approximately 10,800 GPUs as part of its high-performance AI computing offering.
Reliability
95/100
DataCenterDynamics · Dec 5, 2024 · accessed Jul 29, 2026
Japan's Sakura Internet looks to buy 10,000 GPUs a year
Reliability
78/100
Bloomberg · Oct 30, 2024 · accessed Jul 29, 2026
Japan's Sakura Internet Loads Up on Nvidia Gear for Data Center Project
Reliability
85/100
~2,000 H100s operational at Ishikari (NVIDIA PR: expanding 'from 2,000 to nearly 4,000 NVIDIA Hopper GPUs'); HGX B200 planned toward ~10,800 total GPUs. Company added ~1,100 Blackwell GPUs in a container DC at Ishikari announced 2026-02-24 (company announcement). Backed by ~JPY50.1bn METI subsidy for national GenAI compute; site targeted fully renewable by 2027. gpuCount reflects confirmed installed H100 base, not targets.
No revisions recorded.
KDDI · Sakai, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture, Japan
SoftBank · Sakai, Osaka, Japan