What is established
Under construction. 150 MW announced (basis not stated by the source); $676M announced investment; expected Dec 2026; owned or developed by SoftBank.
What is not disclosed
Accelerator count, hardware platform, named tenant, power source, cooling technology — not disclosed by any source on this page. Recorded as unknown, never as zero.
Analyst note
Conversion of Sharp's former Sakai LCD plant; over 150 MW initially with a stated path to over 400 MW. Capex is the property purchase (~$676M), not full fit-out. Original 2025 target slipped to 2026. Linked to the SB OpenAI Japan JV (Cristal Intelligence workloads).
Physical work is under way and the evidence includes a primary source.
Power readiness
Capacity basis unclear
A megawatt figure exists but the source does not say whether it is IT load, site power or generation.
Derived from the evidence on this page by a published rule, not a model. How this is calculated.
34.5670, 135.4280
No companies linked to this project yet.
| Metric | Value | Confidence | As of | Basis / methodology | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 150 MW | High | Not disclosed | Basis: unclear. Announced target, not energized capacity. Note: Conversion of Sharp's former Sakai LCD plant; over 150 MW initially with a stated path to over 400 MW. Capex is the property purchase (~$676M), not full fit-out. Original 2025 target slipped to 2026. Linked to the SB OpenAI Japan JV (Cristal Intelligence workloads). | SoftBank |
| Capex | $676,000,000 | High | Not disclosed | Announced investment figure. | SoftBank |
SoftBank · Jun 7, 2024 · accessed Jul 28, 2026
power capacity of over 150 megawatts
Reliability
95/100
DataCenterDynamics · Jun 7, 2024 · accessed Jul 28, 2026
SoftBank buys former Sharp factory for $676m to build AI data center in Osaka, Japan
Reliability
78/100
Conversion of Sharp's former Sakai LCD plant; over 150 MW initially with a stated path to over 400 MW. Capex is the property purchase (~$676M), not full fit-out. Original 2025 target slipped to 2026. Linked to the SB OpenAI Japan JV (Cristal Intelligence workloads).
No revisions recorded.
Sakura Internet · Ishikari, Hokkaido, Hokkaido, Japan
SoftBank · Loon-Plage, Hauts-de-France, France
KDDI · Sakai, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture, Japan