What is established
Announced. 5 GW announced (basis not stated by the source); $87B announced investment; expected Dec 2031; owned or developed by SoftBank.
What is not disclosed
Accelerator count, hardware platform, named tenant, power source, cooling technology — not disclosed by any source on this page. Recorded as unknown, never as zero.
Analyst note
Announced at Choose France 2026. Program across three sites (Loon-Plage/Dunkirk, Bosquel, Bouchain); capex is the USD equivalent of the up-to-€75B pledge, phase one €45B for 3.1 GW by 2031. Program-stage — no construction confirmed. Coordinates are the Loon-Plage lead site.
Corroborated by more than one source, but not yet backed by physical evidence.
Power readiness
Capacity basis unclear
A megawatt figure exists but the source does not say whether it is IT load, site power or generation.
Derived from the evidence on this page by a published rule, not a model. How this is calculated.
51.0050, 2.2180
No companies linked to this project yet.
| Metric | Value | Confidence | As of | Basis / methodology | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 5,000 MW | High | Not disclosed | Basis: unclear. Announced target, not energized capacity. Note: Announced at Choose France 2026. Program across three sites (Loon-Plage/Dunkirk, Bosquel, Bouchain); capex is the USD equivalent of the up-to-€75B pledge, phase one €45B for 3.1 GW by 2031. Program-stage — no construction confirmed. Coordinates are the Loon-Plage lead site. | SoftBank |
| Capex | $87,000,000,000 | High | Not disclosed | Announced investment figure. | SoftBank |
SoftBank · May 31, 2026 · accessed Jul 28, 2026
initial €45 billion investment to deliver 3.1 GW of AI data center capacity
Reliability
95/100
Bloomberg · May 30, 2026 · accessed Jul 28, 2026
SoftBank plans to invest as much as €75 billion to build 5 gigawatts of artificial intelligence data center capacity in France
Reliability
85/100
Announced at Choose France 2026. Program across three sites (Loon-Plage/Dunkirk, Bosquel, Bouchain); capex is the USD equivalent of the up-to-€75B pledge, phase one €45B for 3.1 GW by 2031. Program-stage — no construction confirmed. Coordinates are the Loon-Plage lead site.
No revisions recorded.
MGX · Fouju, Seine-et-Marne, France
Nebius Group · Béthune, Hauts-de-France, France
SoftBank · Sakai, Osaka, Japan