What is established
Under construction. 1.4 GW announced (gross site power); $16B announced investment; owned or developed by Related Digital.
What is not disclosed
Accelerator count, hardware platform, timeline, named tenant, power source, cooling technology — not disclosed by any source on this page. Recorded as unknown, never as zero.
Analyst note
Developed by Related Digital for OpenAI/Oracle; DTE Energy supply plan approved at 1.4 GW (site power). The companies' own announcement says 'more than a gigawatt' of capacity. Groundbreaking held 2026-06-01. Capex ~$16B per press reports, not confirmed by the companies. UPDATE 2026-08-01: capex was previously withheld because reports conflicted ($7B at announcement vs $16B later). Multiple outlets (CNBC at groundbreaking, Tom's Hardware, Manchester Mirror) now consistently report ~$16B; recorded at MEDIUM confidence. The $7B origin figure is retained here for the record.
Physical work is under way and the evidence includes a primary source.
Power readiness
Capacity basis stated
The source distinguishes IT load from total site power or on-site generation.
Derived from the evidence on this page by a published rule, not a model. How this is calculated.
42.1300, -83.8500
No companies linked to this project yet.
| Metric | Value | Confidence | As of | Basis / methodology | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 1,400 MW | High | Not disclosed | Basis: site power. Announced target, not energized capacity. Note: Developed by Related Digital for OpenAI/Oracle; DTE Energy supply plan approved at 1.4 GW (site power). The companies' own announcement says 'more than a gigawatt' of capacity. Groundbreaking held 2026-06-01. Capex ~$16B per press reports, not confirmed by the companies. | OpenAI / Oracle / Related Digital |
| Capex | $16,000,000,000 | High | Not disclosed | Announced investment figure. | OpenAI / Oracle / Related Digital |
| Capex | $16,000,000,000 | Medium | Not disclosed | Consistently reported by multiple outlets since the June 2026 groundbreaking; not confirmed by the companies. Announcement-era reports said ~$7B. | Uncited |
OpenAI / Oracle / Related Digital · Oct 30, 2025 · accessed Jul 28, 2026
data center campus with more than a gigawatt of capacity in Saline Township, Michigan
Reliability
95/100
CNBC · Jun 1, 2026 · accessed Jul 28, 2026
OpenAI and Oracle held an official groundbreaking for the $16 billion Stargate campus in Saline Township, Michigan, on Monday
Reliability
65/100
Developed by Related Digital for OpenAI/Oracle; DTE Energy supply plan approved at 1.4 GW (site power). The companies' own announcement says 'more than a gigawatt' of capacity. Groundbreaking held 2026-06-01. Capex ~$16B per press reports, not confirmed by the companies. UPDATE 2026-08-01: capex was previously withheld because reports conflicted ($7B at announcement vs $16B later). Multiple outlets (CNBC at groundbreaking, Tom's Hardware, Manchester Mirror) now consistently report ~$16B; recorded at MEDIUM confidence. The $7B origin figure is retained here for the record.
Update: capex now corroborated at ~$16B by multiple outlets (was withheld over $7–16B conflict)
Aug 1, 2026
System
Oracle · Abilene, Texas, United States
Galaxy Digital · Dickens, Texas (Dickens County), United States
Nebius Group · Butler Township, Pennsylvania, United States
Meta · New Albany, Ohio, United States
xAI · Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Applied Digital · Ellendale, North Dakota (Dickey County), United States